Driving laws in Texas vary from other states and due to the vast area it covers, it’s good to be informed before getting behind the wheel. You will find wide open spaces, urban areas, and everything in between in Texas. But be sure if you are heading into lesser-populated parts of the state that you fill up with gas before starting your journey because even in 2019, the next gas station might be far away.
Driving Rules & Regulations
- It is mandatory for children aged between 1 – 7 to be secured in a child passenger safety seat system according to the instructions of the manufacturer of the safety seat system.
- Children aged between 8-15 are required to wear a seat belt.
- Adults are required to wear a seat belt if they are in the front seat.
- Drivers have to stop when approaching a school bus if the buses red alternating lights are flashing. They can only resume driving once the light has stopped flashing, or the bus has started moving again or the driver is signaled to proceed by the bus driver.
- If you’re on an access road of a freeway or expressway, then you must yield to traffic exiting or entering the freeway or expressway.
- Texas has numerous ramp-metering signals at on-ramps on freeways. Drivers will be warned about these with a “Ramp Metered When Flashing” sign with a flashing yellow light. For each green light on the ramp meter, one vehicle will be permitted to enter the freeway.
- The drunk driving limit in Texas is a blood alcohol content of 0.8 or more. You will face a fine or a jail sentence and have your license suspended if you are found to be drinking and driving.
Passing & Turning
- Drive on the right and pass on the left.
- Passing on the left is legal in Texas when there is a dashed white or yellow line marking the boundary between lanes. You should never pass across a solid line, and passing is prohibited in areas marked with “No Passing Zone” signs.
- Drivers are allowed to make a right turn at a red light if there is no sign prohibiting “right on red,” and if it is safe to do so under the circumstances.
- Drivers are allowed to make left turns on red lights if both the origin and destination streets are one way.
- U-turns are only prohibited if you can’t see 500 feet in front of you.
- If you are driving in a three lane roadway on the right and you are trying to turn into the center lane at the same time that a vehicle in the left lane is, the person on the left has right of way.
- It is prohibited to park within 15 meters of a fire hydrant.
- In urban areas, it’s common to have to pay parking meter. Be sure to look for posted signs about whether you need to pay for parking, and how.
The speed limits in Texas are generally the same as in other US states, with a couple of exceptions. The state has a highway with the highest posted speed in the US; you can drive up to 85 miles per hour on Texas State Highway 130. It’s important to note that the speed limits are a range, and if you are driving a truck, you should go by the lowest end of the range. Be sure to pay attention to posted signs for speed variations due to road work or around schools, where the speed limit will be 25 mph or lower when children are present.
|Undivided rural road:||55-75 mph|
|Divided rural road:||75 mph|
|Freeway in city limits:||55-75 mph|
|Freeway outside city limits:||75-85 mph|
Car Rental with Sixt Rent a Car
A Sixt car rental allows you to see and do all that you want in Texas. From urban areas like Dallas, Houston, San Antonio, and Austin to the ranches and farmland in between, this state is begging for a road trip. You can even hit the beach along the Gulf Coast in the south. Or use a car rental in Texas as a jumping off point for adventures in neighboring states like Arizona, Nevada or Louisiana.