Driving Tips in Texas
Driving laws in Texas vary from other states so Sixt has put this guide together to help our customers who need to know some driving tips in Texas.
Rules and Regulations
Here are some useful driving tips in Texas that you should know before you start your road trip.
- Drive on the right and pass on the left.
- The drink driving limit in Texas is as follows: Anybody with a blood alcohol content of 0.8 or more is over the limit and will be prosecuted. You could face a fine or a jail sentence and have your license suspended.
- It is mandatory for children aged between 1 - 7 to be secured in a child passenger safety seat system according to the instructions of the manufacturer of the safety seat system.
- Children aged between 8-15 are required to wear a seat belt.
- Adults are required to wear a seat belt if they are in the front seat.
- Drivers who are in their first 12 months of driving are not allowed to use their cell phones whilst driving.
- Drivers are allowed to make a right turn at a red light if there is no sign prohibiting "right on red," and if it is safe to do so under the circumstances.
- Drivers are allowed to make left turns on red lights if both the origin and destination streets are one way.
- U-turns are only prohibited if you can’t see 500 feet in front of you.
- It is prohibited to park within 15 meters of a fire hydrant.
- Drivers have to stop when approaching a school bus if the buses red alternating lights are flashing. They can only resume driving once the light has stopped flashing, or the bus has started moving again or the driver is signaled to proceed by the bus driver.
- If you are driving in a three lane roadway on the right and you are trying to turn into the center lane at the same time that a vehicle in the left lane is, the person on the left has right of way.
- If you're on the frontage road (a.k.a. access road, feeder road, service road, or gateway) of a freeway or expressway, then you must yield to traffic exiting or entering the freeway or expressway.
- 70 MPH during the daytime on "numbered" highways and country roads outside an urban district
- 65 MPH during the nighttime on "numbered" highways and country roads outside an urban district
- 60 MPH during the daytime on highways that are not "numbered" and that are outside of an urban district
- 55 MPH during the nighttime on highways that are not "numbered" and that are outside of an urban district
- 30 MPH in an urban district
- 15 MPH in an alley
- 15 MPH on a beach
- 15 MPH on a road adjacent to a public beach if declared by the commissioners court of the county
Things to Bring Along
Make sure you carry your driver’s license with you at all times.
Sixt hopes that you have read and understood all our driving tips in Texas to ensure that you have a safe and pleasant journey. If you are visiting Texas you might want to drive to Houston to visit the museum district or go to the Hobby Center for the Performing Arts. You might also want to visit the cities of Dallas and Austin. We also have branches in many other states including Arizona, Nevada, Washington and Florida.