There are a few things you should know if you drive in Nevada during your visit. The state has a lot to see beyond Las Vegas, and with these tips you can have a stress-free road trip here in 2019 or beyond.
Driving Rules & Regulations
Here are some rules and tips that you should make yourself aware of before you set off on the road.
General & Safety
- Texting, accessing the Internet and using a cell phone while driving are illegal in Nevada, although you can talk using a hands-free headset.
- Front and rear seat occupants of almost all passenger vehicles have to wear safety belts or ride in an approved child restraint system.
- Children under age 6 and who weigh less than 60 pounds must be in an approved child restraint system. Failure to restrain children under age 6 and weighing less than 60 pounds may result in fines, community service and/or the suspension of your driver’s license.
- Drivers are required to stop for school buses when students are boarding and departing and when a bus is displaying its flashing red lights. On divided highways with a median or other physical barrier, traffic moving in the opposite direction does not have to stop. On all other roads, traffic in both directions must stop.
- You are required to take a breath, blood or urine test as directed by a police officer if suspected of drunk driving. Blood samples can be drawn involuntarily, even on a first offense. The legal limit in Nevada is .08 percent blood alcohol level or any detectable amount of a controlled substance.
Turning & Overtaking
- You are allowed to turn right on a red light after coming to a full stop, unless otherwise posted. You must yield to pedestrians and all traffic moving through the intersection.
- U-turns are generally allowed if they can be completed safely. In business areas, you must be at an intersection or on a divided highway where an appropriate opening exists. U-turns are not allowed where prohibited by a traffic sign or signal, or if there is less than 500 feet visibility in both directions.
Drivers in Nevada have certain duties when approaching a stopped emergency vehicle with lights flashing. These apply to all types of emergency vehicles including tow trucks. In the absence of direction by a police officer, the driver of a vehicle approaching a stopped emergency vehicle must:
- Decrease the vehicle speed to a speed that is reasonable and proper and less than the posted speed limit.
- Proceed with caution.
- Be prepared to stop.
- If possible, drive in a lane that is not adjacent to the lane in which the emergency vehicle is stopped unless the roadway, traffic, weather or other conditions make doing so unsafe or impossible.
- If you happen to have an accident but there is damage only to a vehicle or other property (no injuries), your vehicle is obstructing traffic and the vehicle can be moved safely, move the vehicle to a location that does not obstruct traffic and then return to the scene.
The speed limits in Nevada are similar to those in other states. The lower range is generally for trucks or other large vehicles, or in special speed zones. There are also limits of 15-25 miles per hour in school zones, 25 mph in business and residential areas, and 45 mph when entering a town or city from a higher speed limit zone.
|Within city limits:||20-30 mph|
|Undivided rural road:||55-75 mph|
|Divided rural road:||65-75 mph|
|Freeway within city limits:||55-65 mph|
|Freeway outside city limits:||70-80 mph|
Car Rental with Sixt
Now that you have some driving tips, you can get on the road in Nevada. Start with a visit to Las Vegas and head to the strip for a variety of entertainment, bars and casinos. Drive to Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area for great scenic walks or visit the Hoover Dam to see a marvel of engineering. For more natural wonders, go to the Valley of Fire State Park to see the colored rocks.