It’s a good idea to know some of the general rules and regulations for driving in Colorado so that you can navigate the Rocky Mountain state without worry. Colorado’s rugged landscape often calls for changes in driving behavior due to the winding mountain roads and changing weather conditions at high altitudes. Though much of the traffic laws are similar, every U.S state has its own set of laws that can vary dramatically in specific areas.
Rules and Regulations
- If your vehicle is equipped with seatbelts you must wear them at all times.
- Seatbelts are required for those between 8 and 16 years old while children under 8 years of age must be seated in an appropriately sized safety seat.
- Unless trying to reach emergency services, texting while driving is forbidden and no form of mobile phone use is permitted for drivers under 18 years of age.
- You must adhere to the 3-second rule, leaving this amount of distance between your vehicle and the vehicle in front.
- Drivers should always yield the right of way to buses that are indicating and re-entering traffic.
- Drivers must yield to pedestrians if not doing so is likely to result in accident or injury.
- Drivers can be charged for aggressive driving if they make any dangerous actions that put another driver or pedestrian in danger.
- The blood alcohol limit is just 0.05% and driving while intoxicated offense (DWI) can result in large fines, public service, and even jail time.
Speed Limits in Colorado
Below is a table of the general speed limits for Colorado. Be sure to adhere to the speed limit signs wherever you are driving, and be aware that the limit can be especially varied on mountain roads. With its steep inclines and winding curves, the Rocky Mountains section of Interstate 70 has a maximum speed limit of 65 miles per hour.
|Narrow Mountain Roads||20 mph (32 km/h)|
|Business Districts||25 mph (40 km/h)|
|Residential Districts||30 mph (48 km/h)|
|Rural Highways||55-65 mph (88-105 km/h)|
|Interstates||65-75 mph (105-121 km/h)|
Turning and Parking
- In Colorado, it is illegal to make U-turns at intersections with traffic signals or that are controlled by police officers. It is also forbidden to make U-turns on Interstate highways with 2-4 lanes. It is usually signposted in other areas where U-turns are prohibited. If you must perform a U-turn be sure not to obstruct the flow of traffic.
- Do not park within 5 feet of a driveway.
- Do not park within 15 feet of a fire hydrant.
- Do not park within 50 feet of a railroad crossing.
- Do not park within 20 feet of a fire station driveway.
- Do not park within 30 feet of a traffic signal, flashing beacon, or yield sign.
Car Rental with SIXT in Michigan
Our prime location at Denver International Airport (DIA) is just a 30-minute drive from downtown Denver and a 1 hour and 30-minute drive to Rocky Mountain National Park. As a tourist destination, Denver was most known for being a gateway to the Rocky Mountains. More recently its booming arts and culinary scenes are transforming the city into a popular destination in its own right. Check out Santa Fe and the Golden Triangle for the arts and theater, Lower Downtown for upmarket bars and restaurants, and South Broadway for excellent live music. Possibly the trendiest part of town is now the River North arts district; expect a plethora of galleries, hip bars, and revitalized industrial architecture.
Colorado’s dramatic scenery is still a major attraction and you have a great range of parks to explore within easy reach of Denver. The Rocky Mountain National Park offers extraordinary hiking and camping and the mountain scenery is majestic. Colorado also has an impressive array of ski resorts such as those in Vail. For a scenic drive, we highly recommend the Million Dollar Highway on the San Juan Skyway Scenic Byway starting in Durango. The scenic byway winds through the mountainside and gives you dramatic vistas across some of Colorado’s most stunning peaks.