Get up to date on Utah’s road rules to help you safely navigate the state in your car rental. Driving in Utah is a dream thanks to scenic byways that explore the state’s extraordinary landscapes. With 14 outstanding National Parks spread out over Utah, the state is a hit with bikers, hikers and climbers while cities such as Salt Lake City provide a rich music scene and an outstanding food culture. Here we will give a general overview of the state’s road rules while also providing information on speed limits, parking, and things to do during your trip.
General Rules and Regulations
- Seatbelts must be worn at all times in Utah.
- Child seats must be used for all children under 8 and children under 4 need to be placed in a rear-facing child seat. The driver is responsible for all children under 16 having appropriately safe seating.
- Buses with flashing amber lights mean they are slowing down and red flashing lights mean the bus is stopping to load or unload. You must stop and wait for the bus unless you are on the opposite side of the road on a divided highway.
- Drivers should yield to all pedestrians at crossroads, intersections, and roundabouts.
- Wait to cross intersections if you cannot pass them. It is illegal to block an intersection.
- You can turn right at a red traffic signal, but you must come to a full stop and check for oncoming traffic before you proceed.
- Non-working traffic signals should be treated as a four-way stop.
Speed Limits in Utah
Speed limits in Utah are relatively high, reaching up to 80 mph on interstate highways. The state has speed limit laws stating that you must alter your speed appropriately based on weather, traffic, and road conditions. Here are some of the general speed limits throughout Utah.
|School zones||20 mph|
|Within city limits||25 mph|
|Urban highways and interstates||65-70 mph|
Turning and Parking
Generally, areas where U-turns are forbidden will be signposted. Make sure you have visibility in either direction and are not close to a curve or gradient in the road when you make a U-turn.
Parking laws vary between states and jurisdictions so it’s always good to do some research on your destination before you travel. Here are some parking rules in Utah to help you avoid fines and offenses.
- Do not park within 20 feet of a crosswalk.
- Do not park within 15 feet of a fire hydrant.
- Do not park within 30 feet away from pedestrian zones.
- Double parking is illegal.
- Do not park within 20 feet of a fire station driveway, if you are parked on the opposite side of the road to the entrance you should be 75 feet away.
- Do not park in an intersection or crosswalk.
- Red zones and curbs painted red are areas where it is forbidden to park.
- You can only pull over and park on the hard shoulder of Utah’s interstate highways if you break down, have an accident, or are in distress.
Car Rental with SIXT in Utah
Utah is known for its sandstone deserts, pine forests, canyons, and red rock formations. The national parks are well equipped with trails and other facilities for a huge variety of outdoor activities, the highlights being Zion National Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. Zion Canyon is an immense Navajo Sandstone canyon, perhaps best seen from the famous hike to Angels Landing. Bryce Canyon is no less impressive, with startling geological formations creating amazing vistas at the aptly named Sunrise Point.
Make sure you take in some of Utah’s scenic byways with your car rental. The All-American Road Scenic Byway takes you through red rock tunnels and national forests providing excellent views of canyons, Boulder Mountain and the Grand Staircase–Escalante National Monument.